That time of year again

2 Apr

It’s a happy fact that spring has now sprung. I can report that until yesterday I nodded in agreement when several fellow gardeners have said as many gardeners do at this time of year: ‘ I haven’t even bought my seed potatoes yet.’ Neither had I. But the 1st April came and this seemed to jolt me into action so the last 24 hours have been a hive of activity, I rushed out and bought seed potatoes. I visited my neglected plot and also made a start on getting my funky veg kit (an imaginative xmas present) up and running.

At the plot I have been strimming, planting onions and garlic (probably far too late but hey ho) and of course catching up with some long overdue weeding.

As I am a useless orange carrot grower  I don’t hold much hope for the purple haze carrots in the funky veg set but it made the kids giggle and may even entice them to eat some if they do come to fruition, so it has to be worth a shot.

 

One Response to “That time of year again”

  1. gillridge April 2, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

    I look forward to trying some of the purple carrots! Sounds like you have been very busy. Xx

Leave a Reply

