Clearing the decks

19 Jun

The last few weeks have seen me clearing away, weeding, chopping and lopping all the anomalies my plot had to offer. I used to tolerate a small oak tree slap bang in the middle of my plot but recently noticed it was getting so big my loppers from home would soon be insufficient for cutting it down, so down it came. I had seen the acorn this young tree had grown from so it pulled at my sentimental heart to chop it down and add it to the compost but I knew really an oak tree in the middle of the plot was a rather useless idea.

Ditto the four foot weed that did give off rather nice flowers. And the dock leaf plant which had now grown to several feet high, in danger of going to seed and sprinkling it’s off spring near and far with each gust of wind that comes by way of the plot.

So my plot now looks more neat and uniform than ever before as I embrace an unsentimental approach to gardening.

Elsewhere the broad beans are covered in black fly despite my spraying them with aphid killer. My slug free lettuce is wilting under the plastic cover I have constructed as a way to protect them from all things molusc, while my slug filled lettuce I am growing at home diminishes every night even though it is ringed by a holly trinity of coffee granules, egg shells and copper tape. The final attempt to protect the lettuce came when I cracked by cracking open the slug pellets even though I had vowed not to use them any more. What choice do you have when all other methods fail and everything you grow seems to be destined to be everyone else’s lunch but yours?

At home we are a family divided, with the oldest one heading to Beaver camp tonight with her dad, leaving me with the younger child with a long weekend stretching ahead of us. A year ago I would have balked at such a situation but now he has mellowed and out grown the toddler tantrums, yesterday he told me he loved the plot and would dig it even when I die (I won’t hold him to it but the thought was a sweet one) so I envisage, weather permitting, a fair bit of plot time during our long divided weekend.

2015-06-18 16.16.25

The whole plot sans mini-oak and tall weeds

2015-06-18 11.29.01

Slug ravaged lettuce

 2015-06-09 10.05.16

Thus far slug free lettuce

3 Responses to “Clearing the decks”

  1. gillridge June 19, 2015 at 8:02 pm #

    Wow the plot is looking amazing! Look forward to seeing it again one day soon. xx

    • wifi allotment June 20, 2015 at 7:41 pm #

      Thanks mum I was really hoping we would get to wander down there today but alas the weather was against us! Thanks again for such a lovely day, as i am halfway thru my Ken free weekend I think I was in need of the adult company and a good natter! Xx

      • gillridge June 21, 2015 at 7:15 pm #

        Yes it was great! Xx

Leave a Reply

