A brief moment of smugness…..

15 May

Before I start this post let me set out my case clearly – I am not prone to smug moments. I’m sure we all have the capacity to be smug at times but honestly I haven’t had that much occasion to be smug and I’m much more likely to be self deprecating than celebrate my successes. Almost every exam I have taken I have failed and had to retake thanks to undiagnosed dyslexia and a very slacker attitude on my part. Each time I finally passed something I felt exhausted relief rather than the sweetness of smuggery. When I had kids there was no smug moment of look-at-what-I-have-procreated I just felt exhausted relief that everyone came through it intact and wondered what the hell we had done with our nice life (perhaps that was retrospective smugness about a life that had since ended…)

So I know how annoying smuggery is and have spent a life time avoiding it but it’s Friday and I liked the title of this post and you know what, I was feeling just a tiny bit smug when I went to the plot today. I stood there and wondered what to do (that really doesn’t happen very often, normally the to do list overwhelms me).

I finished mowing the grass (admittedly the plot recently has felt like just another place to come and cut grass and if you saw the state, or rather length, of my lawn at home, you’d realise there are many areas of my life I have nothing to feel smug about).

After mowing I uncovered a raised bed, feeling slightly smug I had covered it over a few months ago and so it was all pristine and weed free. I chucked on some more compost, feeling slightly smug that I had got in more sacks of compost recently. I planted carrots, parsnips and beetroots, knowing my track record on growing them has been very poor so far but still I enjoyed that moment. I spotted a slow worm, I picked flowers, I took photos – I enjoyed being there and realised this as I pottered about. It doesn’t matter what grows, or doesn’t, being there with the sun shining is such a joy. Maybe smug people are better at feeling joy, who knows. But for a brief while it felt quite nice feeling proud and a wee bit smug!

Reasons to be cheerful:

2015-05-15 09.27.21

I found a slow worm!

2015-05-15 11.29.19

I planted root veg!

2015-05-15 11.30.37

My grass looks respectable – a first!

2015-05-15 09.19.23

The whole plot looks respectable – ditto!

2015-05-15 09.10.08

I spotted an infant gooseberry!

2015-05-15 11.29.25

My spuds are coming up!

4 Responses to “A brief moment of smugness…..”

  1. alison May 15, 2015 at 12:36 pm #

    Be smug and proud. I was gonna come down today, but spent the morning making cakes for the school summer fete tomorrow – which I feel equally smug about!

    • wifi allotment May 15, 2015 at 6:20 pm #

      Think you’ve out smugged me – I totally forgot about the school fair even though I’ve had a million texts asking for my baked goods – believe me tho they’re better off without mine! X

  2. gillridge May 18, 2015 at 1:17 pm #

    That’s not smugness – that’s contentment and satisfaction in a job well done! The plot’s looking lovely – I look forward to another visit one day soon! xx

    • wifi allotment May 18, 2015 at 3:53 pm #

      Yes defo, we’ll have to stroll up there one evening when I’m not teaching wednesdays…..

Leave a Reply

