Strawberry Patch – the final chapter (for now)

1 May

Another two visits have passed and in that time I have membraned the youngest one’s much neater strawberry patch and conquered the thick clumps of wild grass that inhabited the oldest one’s strawberry patch. I have even got an off-shoot pot of strawberry plants as some had managed to escape the little plots and gone feral on fruit corner itself.

2015-04-30 09.32.59

D’s patch looking rather more professional

2015-04-21 10.32.25

In case you’ve forgotten – this is what the oldest child’s strawberry patch looked like 10 days ago.

2015-04-30 11.11.58

Drum roll….this is how I left it looking yesterday

While I did all of this rather unnecessary and intensive weeding the grass kept growing. Weeds elsewhere on the plot are taking hold and I have not even planted anything of any note yet. At home my grow-from-seed seedlings are not doing well (mainly as I had to shift them all outdoors after noticing the fibrous pots had gone moldy and the hubby worried about our nut allergic, dust allergic, wheezy son breathing in mold vapors). They are now residing on my patio table, at the mercy of the slugs, snails and the elements. I do expect to have to regrow all my courgettes (like I did last year) but hey at least I have finally emptied one last bucket of weeds from two tiny corners of the plot.

One Response to “Strawberry Patch – the final chapter (for now)”

  1. gillridge May 2, 2015 at 9:21 am #

    The strawberry plots look great – look forward to sharing one or two when the time comes! xx

Leave a Reply

