Uncovering strawberry patches

24 Apr

My last two trips to the plot have been all about revealing two wee corners of the plot that are the kids own little growing areas.

In these little patches we started off by growing anything and everything – radishes, potatoes and onions. There were failed attempts at growing carrots. And then my eldest brought home a strawberry plant from school and from that one wee plant a whole strawberry patch has flourished and then (when my youngest got jealous – radishes really don’t compare to strawberries in his book) we transplanted some off shoots from her patch to his.

Now it has to be said I am regretting not putting membrane down to protect the strawberries from being overgrown by weeds. And I was pretty slack all of last year keeping on top of the weeds’ rampant progress. Then last week I noticed I could no longer actually see my daughter’s little plot anymore, it was totally overgrown.

2015-04-21 10.32.25

Blink and you miss it! My eldest’s strawberry patch.

During the Easter holidays when I took the kids down to the plot with me I did suggest they might like to weed their own patches but the novelty wore off after about three minutes and so here I am, this week sorting out non-essential weeding!

My son’s patch came up trumps after about two hours of weeding had ensured two buckets full of weeds were removed.

2015-04-21 10.32.17

My youngest’s strawberry patch uncovered to it’s former glory!

My eldest’s patch was far worse though and today I spent two hours but came away feeling in the battle of weed V woman, today the weeds won. There was a huge clump of grass that I just could not budge. I was tired and in need of a cuppa so I left having covered up the rogue grass clump, deciding perhaps next time I need to come armed with some weed killer to finish the job off.

2015-04-24 10.57.34

Half way there! My eldest’s strawberry patch before the weeds defeated me!

So on this occasion the weeds won the battle but the war is far from over.

One Response to “Uncovering strawberry patches”

  1. gillridge April 24, 2015 at 3:30 pm #

    I’m impressed. D’s patch looks pristine. Sure you’ll sort B’s too soon! Xx

Leave a Reply

