Spring is here – time to dig!

19 Mar

2015-02-26 11.12.46

About three weeks ago I had an overzealous burst of seed buying. I took such joy in sticking with good old tried and tested easy growers such as courgettes and tomatoes whilst also, ambitiously branching out with tougher grows like ginger and asparagus.

Needless to say since that heady trip to Wilko the packets of seeds have sat gathering dust, and when I do spot them in the depths of my chaotic, over filled, broom cupboard they seem almost to be accusing me of not going down the plot.

It would not be an unfair accusation. I have done sweet FA in the plot department of late. Bizarrely I can blame some of this in part to mindfulness. Yes that trendy meditation technique that’s all the rage. In the last two years since taking the plot seriously and aiming to go down there at least once a week during spring, summer and autumn I have also been retraining to become a mindfulness meditation teacher. Retraining can often be a never-ending story and certainly in mindfulness it feels this way – I have less free time than I have ever had, as I sort out courses, advertising and of course my never-ending CPD.

Bizarrely on the eight week course I teach in week 7 we talk about reclaiming a forgotten passion. This time around when I taught week seven I felt slightly guilty and hypocritical as I realised that forgotten passion of mine was the plot.

Dear old plot, such a new forgotten pleasure, how could I have abandoned you so quickly? It happens to so many people I have known who have said about having a plot, it was a nice idea I just never had the time.

So, realising that it really is very much a case of dig or lose the plot, today I carried my wellies with me on the school run, glowing inside at the thought of my hot date with the plot. As always first thing to do was check the shed was still standing (it was, good old faithful shed), before surveying what I needed to do next. (In a word: weeding)

2015-03-19 11.25.00 2015-03-19 11.26.08

There were many reasons to be cheerful. When I recalled how much I had to do this time last year and the year before that I realised this year there isn’t actually an awful lot to do. This is a first for me as a gardener. Of course any old gardener will tell you there’s always so much to do. But when I designed the usage of our little plot I did so with a very low maintenance project in mind, aware that I lose interest in things and that life can often take over.

So with my birthday fast approaching I have decided what I need for my birthday present is rather boringly a strimmer that can tackle the grass in a fraction of the time the shears take and then really it will be even more low maintenance.

2015-03-19 11.25.34 2015-03-19 11.25.49

Then I set about weeding the uncovered bits, which this year is only two raised beds and a few random patches here and there. I cannot recommend buying large quantities of membrane more highly if you are time impoverished like me. The raised bed I made on a budget using plastic lawn edging is now disintegrating so it will have to be replaced. This time I vow to be more like my hubby who would’ve bought a more robust metal edging thing. I got half of this bed weeded, ready for my spuds.

2015-03-19 11.26.23 2015-03-19 11.26.54

With the digging and weeding well under way, with one and half beds ready for planting, I trimmed the grass in fruit corner with my push along mower, vowing not to leave it too late this year. The cold dry weather we had in the earlier months of this year has ensured that nothing much has grown there so it was not yet at epic jungle proportions like last year when we finally got around to cutting the grass.

I also spotted lots of buds. Now I don’t know much about fruit trees or bushes but I do know that buds must surely be a good sign. And nearly all the bushes and trees on the plot had the first sign of some healthy buds. I sat and did a short meditation, hoping the lady on the next plot didn’t think me too eccentric, and could see our plan of fruit bushes and trees, finally coming together.

 2015-03-19 10.01.13

The one slightly less welcome sight was the inside of my shed. Man it needs a spring clean! And as there is rather a large queue for things that need a spring clean in my life right now (my house, my shed at home, my garden, front and back, my filling cabinet at work, my broom cupboard of course) I fear the plot shed may be waiting till September to get the clear out it requires.

2015-03-19 11.57.19

But who cares about a never-ending spring clean to-do list when you have spring round the corner, a welcome parcel of seed potatoes from uncle Arthur and a warm glow from rediscovering a forgotten passion.

4 Responses to “Spring is here – time to dig!”

  1. gillridge March 19, 2015 at 4:22 pm #

    Great blog and photos my love! xx

  2. wifi allotment March 19, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

    Thank you and thank you for delivering said seed potatoes – it was that bag that spurred me into action this morning! Xx

  3. alison April 13, 2015 at 2:05 pm #

    So, your blog finally inspired me to take the plunge and take on my own allotment!! I am now the proud owner of plot 37B. I have no idea of its size in rods – but its 9m x 5m. Have spent the last 2 hours weeding and watering the strawberry patch – needed some light relief after a weekend of full on digging!! Do come and visit some time x

    • wifi allotment April 13, 2015 at 5:58 pm #

      I feel honoured to have inspired you (and also amazed my tell-it-like-it-is blog hasn’t put you off!!) can’t wait to come and see what you have done so far! If the sun is shining on Thursday we might head down for a few hours, text me if you are around then too and we can compare plots! Xx

Leave a Reply

