Losing the plot

5 Dec

It’s been a really hectic couple of weeks. I haven’t visited the plot for at least four weeks but that may actually be six. It’s been cold and rainy and I have yet to replace visiting the allotment with running as I attempted last year (witness last year’s xmas present from the hubby – running shoes – slowly decaying in a cupboard under the stairs).

Instead I have spent the last few weeks doing doctor’s appointments, nurses appointments and a whole lot of lesson planning for an observation at work. Both kids were off the entire week last week, that coupled with an inset day on Friday meant I lost a whole week of work time, so it was only today that I felt sufficiently back to treading water in the ocean of stuff to do (rather than full on drowning in it as it felt last week) which saw me have sufficient time to make a quick site visit.

2014-12-05 09.34.04

As I joked to a fellow mum on the drop off, I was merely checking my shed was still upright. It was still standing and not an awful lot had changed, the grass had grown a bit, there were a few more weeds. I dug over one little area by the shed as it was such a sunny day, once I got there I didn’t really want to leave.

2014-12-05 09.32.59 2014-12-05 09.32.52

I also planted out broad bean seeds, that the kids had helped me to shell and dry in the summer, our own seed production line seems quite cool although I’m not convinced they will actually grow. I need to buy some membrane (I have finally run out, every inch of the stuff I bought before is currently in use) and also I need to get hold of some onion and garlic to plant and then that may well be it till February.

2014-12-05 09.33.22 2014-12-05 09.33.12

The brassicas I planted back in August looked rather dog earred. I had to throw two cabbages in the compost and a whole bed was little more than stumps after those hungry slugs had done their worst. There is one plant that looks like it might produce a few nibbled sprouts in time for Christmas but I don’t think the big supermarkets have much to worry about in terms of lose of profits thanks to my home grown efforts.

2014-12-05 09.33.37

All I can say is hurrah for leeks, they seem to grow no matter what you do or don’t do to them. I was going to give all concerned some plant food but in the end I just sprinkled some organic poultry manure around anything that looked vaguely alive and decided I had had enough for one day, a ten o’clock cuppa was calling me. It was good to be back but at this time of year a short half hour burst is more than sufficient.

3 Responses to “Losing the plot”

  1. Mrs PPP December 5, 2014 at 6:02 pm #

    Sometimes it really is a battle just to get on site. Our barren nightmare went 6 weeks without a visit following illness after illness. I confess, I too went just to make sure the shed was still upright…and on our plot, not upside down on a neighbouring one! I am hoping that Winter will mean being able to sort out some beds, have a little ‘shed time’ (therapeutic screaming anyone?) and have the site finally looking a little more ‘allotment’ and a little less ‘flytip with weed mat’. May your brussell sprouts be un-nibbled and plentiful! 🙂

    • wifi allotment December 5, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

      Many thanks Mrs PPP, I hope you manage to get some therapeutic shed time! Our plot was a real state when we took it on but two years and a very knackered little finger later and it has really taken shape and i wouldn’t be without it for the world! Happy winterval!

  2. gillridge December 6, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

    Looking good in a proper winter way! I look forward to adding a few plot brussels to the bought ones on Christmas Day like we did last year! xx

Leave a Reply

