Slug fest

13 May

I seem to have some kind of hybrid bionic slugs on my plot, feasting on whatever I plant. In my last entry I listed carrot seedlings, beetroot seedlings, lettuce seedlings and now my pea plants as having succumbed to their insatiable appetite but now there are more casualties.

The pea plants are just about hanging on in there, but for how long I cannot say. I went there on a mercy mission this morning to dig yet another slug beer trap as they seem impervious to even the finest poison garden shops sell. There I was on the plot having one of those moments you’d rather not share – clutching a can of basics lager at 9.30am, topping up the beer traps having scooped out a large stack of dead molluscs.

But the latest casualty, gone for good are my pumpkins, at least two have gone completely, only one seedling remains despite putting eggs shells, gravel and poison near to them, the robo-slugs have remained undeterred.

dead pumpkin

Now you see me…

With all this slug carnage and frost I can only assume that last year, my inaugural year of being a gardener, I just got very very lucky. I actually had a moment today when I thought (whisper it) is this really worth the effort? I mean how much is a sack of spuds anyway? I could buy organic veg for a year on the amount I have spent on equipment and compost. And let’s not get started on the time it continually sucks from me….

But despite the rant, it isn’t all doom and gloom. I finally planted my blueberry bushes, as I have decided perennials and fruit bushes are where it’s at for a gardener of my limited talents. And I planted out a container of carrot seeds. A friend did really well with her container grown carrots last year so this has inspired me to use a now decommissioned recycling bin for the very same purpose.

And I have broad beans! OK so half my plants have been blown over by the wind and I can’t say I am overly fond of broad beans but surely there will be a nice homous-y type recipe I can use them up on and it beats having the slugs eat them.

broad beans

 

4 Responses to “Slug fest”

  1. gillridgewell May 13, 2014 at 3:00 pm #

    Oh no! Not the pumpkins – they looked so healthywhen you took me to visit the plot! Beastly slugs! XX

    • wifi allotment May 13, 2014 at 6:22 pm #

      Yes I know, I couldn’t believe they managed to penetrate my ring of poison, egg shells and gravel – will they stop at nothing!!? X

  2. therookieallotmenteers May 13, 2014 at 5:17 pm #

    It is frustrating, but surely no reason to turn to basics lager that early in the morning ? 😉 Seems to be the year for slug carnage all round – not sure why – don’t let em beat you ! 🙂

    • wifi allotment May 13, 2014 at 6:21 pm #

      Ha-ha! Fear not I am not ready to chuck in the gardener’s glove just yet, despite all the annoyance of those slugs I still love every moment I spend there, luckily it’s never been about the veg I grow!

Leave a Reply

