I discover running

28 Nov

Nanowrimo is all well and good, my word count is creeping up slowly and this week I discovered a colleague is also participating. We have both started late and expect our nanowrimo to finish sometime around January. It’s wonderful to be writing again but the allotment has really had a life changing impact on me in that I miss the outdoors!

Anyone who knew me from years ago will understand what a sea change this is and no one could be more surprised than me. I have been feeling sluggish and in need of fresh air and movement. I went to an all day silent retreat in London and the thing that preoccupied me the most was how uncomfortable the chairs were. I was off striding round the small walled garden every opportunity I could, like some deranged prisoner whiling away their prison sentence.

Six years ago my new years resolutions were ‘continue learning and start running’ I found out a month later I was pregnant and the wise GP said now is not the time to take up running, so it has bubbled on the back burner ever since.

On Monday night my hubby bought me some running shoes on-line for my Christmas present. This terrified me into action. The very next morning I went out and did 2.5 circuits of a nearby sports field even though the running shoes had yet to arrive. A friend of mine who took up running said basically you just run and then walk and run and then walk until you can run for longer than you can walk.

running

My early xmas pressie

If you have recently seen a woman wearing ancient yoga trousers and walking boots gasping her way round a field then that could quite possibly be me. Gosh it’s hard work, I understand why running is a love/hate thing. I felt like I was going to die by the end of it but clearly I didn’t and so instead I felt slightly elated. I combined it with a bit of al fresco yoga and chi gong and felt really alive and hungry, so hungry.

running 3

My soggy walking boots

I went again today, still in walking boots which got quite soggy. It didn’t feel much easier, in fact I think it may have actually been a bit harder than Tuesday’s run but I still thought I’ll be back tomorrow! So much like the allotment: I am hooked and I have soggy feet!

When I got back I didn’t want my post plot reward of tea and biscuits, I found myself making a super food smoothie – not a regular in my house I have to confess. And then a knock at the door revealed my running shoes have arrived already, so there is no backing down now!

running 2

Super food smoothie – I’d earned this!

 

2 Responses to “I discover running”

  1. Gill Ridgewell November 29, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    I am so impressed – as you say a real suprise! Though your falling in love with the allotment was a surprise too. Mind you, you always have been full of suprises! Glad the writing is still going well too. XX

  2. wifi allotment December 3, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

    Yes 2013 – the year of discoveries! Subtitle: learning to love daylight!! X

Leave a Reply

