I’ve created a monster!

4 Sep

So the slug traps work! I have so far scooped out about forty dead slugs. Luckily I had the foresight to wear rubber gloves and bring a plant pot when I first did this horrible task. The dead bodies go on the compost, apparently they add much needed nutrients.

It was with a heavy heart I scooped out my first batch and yet today, the third time, I hardly gave it a thought. Proof the human mind really can get used to anything.

dead slugs

Poor dead slugs

A similar change has come over my youngest. I felt embarrassed to do said slug scooping in front of them on Monday when we went for a last summer holiday visit to the plot. They were intrigued and of course loved the goriness. But at the end my youngest lamented ‘ Mummy, I wish you wouldn’t kill slugs.’

I felt awful and also it didn’t sit with my zen outlook and style of mothering. I frequently tell them not to tread on snails on the way to school for example. That is going to sound pretty lame now they know the truth: that I am a slug murderer. My youngest D has been saying he wants to go veggie for some time and I say he can, any time he starts eating vegetables we will make that change. He will then tuck into his sausages or whatever is on the menu that day whilst ignoring all foliage on his plate.

The other day he managed two green beans (from a plot neighbour) so we are making baby steps but I don’t think we will be going veggie just yet.

lettuce pots

My newly planted lettuce was harbouring a few unfortunate slugs

His outlook had changed drastically today though. We went for a trip to the plot while the eldest was at school and while he waits to start tomorrow. He hunted down any slug he could find, finding plenty amongst the lettuces, and then proceeded to drop them by hand into the beer traps. Even for an experienced slug slayer like myself, the actual act of placing them in the trap made me feel uncomfortable. ‘ We could just put them over there,’ I suggested, pointing to the weedy end of the plot no one uses.

His reply? ‘No mummy, all slugs must die.’ When he started singing ‘walk the plank, walk the plank’ (a little chant from one of his favourite CBeeBies programmes) as he committed each one to their beery end, I knew his transformation from  compassionate soul to alpha male was almost complete. Surprisingly he hasn’t mentioned becoming veggie all day.

5 Responses to “I’ve created a monster!”

  1. lottielandgirl September 5, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    I’m like you really don’t mind the snail and feel terrible when I accidentally step on one :/ when it’s been raining, I’m not the quickest walker on the pavement. I’m looking our for them and even move them to the nearest wall. Slugs on the other hand… I really hate them it’s down to my husband to deal with them! I didn’t realise that they are good for compost 🙂 thanks for the tip! 🙂

    • wifi allotment September 9, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      You are welcome Lottie, I read it on the internet – I hope it’s true we now have upwards of 70 dead slugs on our compost heap so I hope it is!!

      • lottielandgirl September 10, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

        Eeeeeerrrr they’re horrible but great if then can be of some use rather than munching the veggies! My cabbages have had it! :/ little monsters! X

  2. Gill Ridgewell. September 5, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    A great episode from the plot, my love! I am sure he will mange to combine being a compassionate soul and an alpha male somehow! Lettuces looking promising btw! XX

    • wifi allotment September 9, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      I hope so! Lettuces doing OK, glad I have slug proofed them and surrounded them with beer traps though!!

Leave a Reply

