A mid summer sort out

10 Aug

My list of things to do goes beyond the plot. I have been toying with the idea of colouring my hair with henna for a while and today I had the necessary components to actually do this – the hubby was around to take the kids out for an adventure, I had bought some organic henna on line which was delivered this week and most importantly I have had so much family time it did not seem an extravagance to devote two and half hours to hair.

Girly stuff does not often happen in my house it has to be said and my daughter’s reaction on seeing my admittedly now rather orange hair was to burst into tears despite being excited about a mummy with different hair. ‘Why isn’t it more orange?’ she finally managed to ask, so at least she wasn’t being gingerist. The packet says allow a few days before disliking as it takes a while to settle and oxidise apparently. So for now I reserve judgement but let’s just say my first thoughts on seeing my new red hair, coupled with an old student t-shirt I was wearing to protect against splatters, was that I looked as though I should be working in a pub in Camden. Absolutely nothing wrong with that look I’m just not sure I can pull it off aged 42 and living in small town suburbia.

Bored of my youngest asking when my orange hair would go away, I decided to take myself and my new fiery mane to the plot, where hair and glamour are the last things on anyone’s mind.

I pottered and covered more weedy areas in membrane – my philosophy being why wait till the weeds are three foot tall?

More membrane to choke off the weeds

Covering up more weeds before they choke off my tomatoes

I tidied the tomato plants and added more cane to support what now feels like a small jungle. I planted the remains of the plants from Uncle Arthur: leeks and cabbages. I also re-potted my pepper seedlings, struggling to separate the twin plants I planted two together for fear of killing them with clumsiness.

Container grown stuff

Cabbages planted into a container

Peppers and Bs sunflower

Re potted peppers and a sunflower plant

The last few things to do was give the plants a bit of plant food, peruse to see what else might need doing tomorrow, pull up some pesky vine weed, wash some now empty seedling trays ready for next time, add my left over seed potatoes to the compost, re-sprinkle grass seed and get a shot of the biggest pumpkin so far. It looks like each plant can produce up to ten pumpkins and currently I have six thriving plants, so I guess I better get some pumpkin recipes at the ready.

pumpkin growing

Growing at an alarming rate!

Finally I had my flask of tea and tried to meditate for three minutes only to be interrupted by a plot neighbour. When I heard what he had to say I didn’t mind the interruption. He came over and said he admired what I had done with my plot, an accolade I had not expected. I happily carried some green tomatoes and two dinky cucumbers home and had forgotten all about my morning spent henna-ing my hair. That was until my youngest shouted by way of greeting, ‘Mummy why is your hair still orange?’ as I walked into the kitchen.

4 Responses to “A mid summer sort out”

  1. therookieallotmenteers August 12, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

    We’ve nominated your blog for a Liebster Award – check out our blog for details ! 🙂

  2. Gill Ridgewell. August 14, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    Just checking to se if the leave a comment is working now!

  3. Gill Ridgewell. August 14, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

    Oh it is good! I’ll retype what I put last time I tried then – when it would not post! First of all the plot is looking great! Also I am not at all surprised that Brydie burst into tears on seeing your new hair. I always remember a v small Justin bursting into tears when he got off the school bus and saw I’d had my hair CUT! (Sorry Justin!) He adjusted and so will Brydie! XX

    • wifi allotment August 16, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

      Yes I thought about that anecdote when she burst into tears! Itching to get back down the plot after out holiday! Xx

Leave a Reply

