Fruit corner – a brief update

14 Jun

As always when I write a post during the afternoon I don’t have time to do this justice but with a busy weekend of meeting university friends in London and father’s day on Sunday I am unlikely to write anything for another week if I leave it. So here is a brief pictorial update.

I have been digging fruit corner as much as I can. We had visitors last weekend, my sister and her family. My brother-in-law is an expert in many things and this week he was on a quest for slow worms. Slow worms as I soon found out are actually a bit of a misnomer, as they are actually legless lizards. I don’t mean befuddled drunken lizards but literally lizards with no legs.

I had no idea what a slow worm looked like or how you might go about finding them but my brother-in-law managed to track down on a whole family after only being at the allotment thirty minutes. Every time I pass the pallet under which they were nesting my youngest now demands to ‘see the snakes’!

slow worm

A magnificent beastie!

Since then the only other highlight has been rearranging the shed. Now that it has a shelf unit I can actually walk into the shed and pretty much grab whatever it is I need rather than having to take on a forty minute expedition which involved balancing everything precariously on a sack of bark chip.

shed rearranged

I do like a bit of order out of the chaos!

Since that heady half hour of putting things on shelves I have been hard at it, clearing more weeds from fruit corner, levelling, sprinkling manure until voila, today I had a section ready to be grass seeded, only to find my grass seed supplies are running low. It doesn’t matter, I’m getting there and this weekend I am giving my poor little hands a much needed rest.

fruit corner with blue pot  fruit corner ready for grass seeds

Even if you can’t notice the difference, just pretend that you can!

2 Responses to “Fruit corner – a brief update”

  1. Gill Ridgewell June 16, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

    Wow! The slow worm photo is amazing – a great Show and Tell opportunity for Brydie I feel! I CAN see the difference your hard work is making! Hope today’s grass seed starts growing quickly! XX

    • wifi allotment June 17, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

      Yes definitely show and tell sorted for another week! Loved the fact B had been going on about snakes and you thought it may have been a tall tail! Xx

Leave a Reply

