Making pathways

16 May

I have been digging a path during my last few visits to the allotment.  As mentioned before, a lot of the work on the allotment is tedious and repetitive – I often have weeds imprinted on my mind’s eye akin to when I went on student forays into fruit picking, at night all I could see was strawberries. A mental image of strawberries is definitely preferable to the gnarly roots of decade old perennial weeds for that much I can vouch.

path halfway through

What the path looked like this morning – halfway there.

As one project takes over everything else gets shoved to the edges. I have been wanting to plant the seedlings I have grown myself but haven’t yet got around to it. Ditto the healthy robust looking ones my uncle gave me. The weather has been so erratic it may not be such a bad thing, delaying their debut into the actual earth by a few more weeks may save them from frost but still, I haven’t planted anything for at least a week and that makes me impatient and slightly bored with the whole hand weeding malarkey.

seedling trays

Brussels sprouts and lettuce plants I have grown from seed!

Often after a visit to the plot I am lost for what to write about. There was that lost opportunity last week when I came face to face with a majestic fox but didn’t get a photo of her. I have seen a few urban foxes in my time and compared to her mangy town cousins this was a proper fox, healthy fur, bushy tail, dazzlingly red. I didn’t want to startle her by taking pictures so I just watched and lamented what a great post it might have made.

Today I finished digging and weeding the pathway that will divide the raised beds from the potato bed. The path is so wide I may even plant some flowers as an artistic and rather unnecessary flourish. I wouldn’t write anything daft like all I need to do now is level it off but I am almost ready to cover it over and move onto another untamed part of the plot, good old fruit corner which has been much neglected for weeks. Neglect on the allotment is foolish, any area left for too long will fall under yet another assault from those ever tenacious weeds.

path almost done

Spot the difference? Two hours later the path is almost ready.

This afternoon as I juggled giving my youngest his lunch and coordinating a grocery delivery the phone rang. It was my eldest’s teacher saying she had been sick and needed picking up. The teacher cheerfully told me my eldest was number 14 from the foundation stage to be sent home with this contagious bug. As I walked the all too familiar path to the school it hit me with a jolt that 48 hours off school for my daughter equals no allotment time for me tomorrow. When this thought made me sigh rather than feel mild relief as it would’ve done a few months ago, I knew I had succumbed to a contagion myself, perhaps I’ll call it an allotment bug.

One Response to “Making pathways”

  1. Gill Ridgewell May 17, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    Yes I think we can say that the gardening gene has definitely fully matured in you my love. The fox sounded amazing btw. XXX

Leave a Reply

