Herb garden update

9 May

I don’t really have time to do a post justice, my youngest is yapping at my heels and I have promised him a trip to the local stay and play but anyway I felt compelled to do a small blog boast. Today when I went to the allotment I thought you know what I have had it with going through the weeds with a small fork and doing a square foot in three hours. Today, I thought, I am going to move things along a bit.

herb garden befroe weedkiller

Herb garden about a month ago.

Part of the reason I have been using a hand fork to sort out herb garden is because the earth is so dry I cannot penetrate the caked earth with the big fork. So I soaked the whole patch with a watering can and was soon able to turn it over, in two hours I got so much done. It just needs leveling off before being covered in membrane and then sorting out containers to grow herbs in – a short cut to weed free patches on the plot, we have decided, is the only way to go.

herb garden coming along

What it looks like now!

2 Responses to “Herb garden update”

  1. Gill Ridgewell May 9, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    Wow that’s impressive progress! You are beginning to sound like an expert!. XX

    • wifi allotment May 9, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

      Yes it felt really good after my sweaty handed antics on Monday when it felt like I had hardly even touched the sides!

Leave a Reply

